Tag Archives: New Jersey
Let’s discuss the New Jersey turn signal law. New Jersey’s rules regarding signaling before starting, turning or stopping require a driver to give an appropriate signal before turning. Not only does the rule require a NJ driver to use their turn signal one-hundred (100) feet before a turn, N.J.S.A. 39:4-126 also prohibits a vehicle from turning left, right, forward or back until such movement can be made with safety. While the NJ signaling before turning rule may seem simple, the consequences of being found guilty for failing to signal results in two (2) points towards your driving record. Thus, it is important to know the rule and abide by the rule.
Tickets for not Using Your Turn Signal
Over the past 35 years, our law firm has represented hundreds of clients who received New Jersey traffic tickets, including for failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping. Some of these traffic violations, i.e., failing to signal before starting, turning or stopping (N.J.S.A. 39:4-126), involve the imposition of motor vehicle driving points, payment of fines, surcharges and costs. Of the penalties, the most typical concern centers around the imposition of motor vehicle points because points can lead to an increase in automobile insurance premiums and, if points accrue to the threshold, they can result in the suspension of your driver’s license. Accordingly, it is important to speak with an attorney before you plead guilty to any motor vehicle violation.
Penalties for Violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-126 (not using your turn signal)
A person convicted of a failure to give proper signal in New Jersey is subject to a fine of $85.00 and is subject to two (2) motor vehicle penalty points for a first offense.
Our attorneys can discuss your options, as well as, appear with you in municipal court. Due to the potential penalties for a traffic violation or ticket, you may incur fines, points on your driver’s license record, surcharges and costs, all of which are reasons to speak with an experienced attorney in handling these matters.
Let’s look at how your auto insurance policy can affect your personal injury claim. If you have been injured in a car accident, your ability to recover monetary compensation for the injuries caused by this accident can depend on your automobile insurance policy.
If you live in New Jersey or are a non-resident injured in a car accident that occurred in New Jersey, you are subject to one of two thresholds: (1) “Zero/No Threshold,” or (2) “Limited Right to Sue/Verbal Threshold/Lawsuit Threshold.”
The first policy, the “Zero/No Threshold” policy, allows any person who is injured in a car accident to make a personal injury claim, no matter the extent of the injury. As the policy title implies, there is no threshold, meaning there is no minimum injury requirement in order to receive compensation for your injury. The only dispute will concern the value of your injury. Thus, the dispute with the insurance carrier will concern how much your injury is worth. In these cases, the defending insurance company will take the position, regardless of how injured you may be, that the injury has “little or no value.” Thereafter, the insurance company will make a monetary offer of settlement reflecting their devalued settlement price in hopes that you accept their offer. The attorneys at Puff & Cockerill will defend your injury and fight against the insurance company’s tactics to reach a fair and equitable settlement on your behalf.
The second policy, the “Limited Right to Sue/Verbal Threshold/Lawsuit Threshold” policy, acts as a potential bar to certain types of injuries. In other words, this threshold policy can prevent you (the injured party) from bringing a lawsuit in a personal injury claim, unless the car accident results in the following injuries:
- Significant disfigurement or significant scarring;
- Displaced fractures;
- Loss of a fetus; or
- Permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability, other than scarring or disfigurement.
As a result, the defending insurance company will use the “thresholds” as a defense to your personal injury claim. The insurance company may take a “no-pay” position on the claims it believes do not surpass the above mentioned thresholds, which to no surprise is a vast majority of the claims for injuries. Consequently, the insurance company will not offer any compensation for those personal injury claims. Even when your injuries surpass the threshold, the insurance company will still argue that your injuries have little or no value and it will make a small monetary settlement offer reflecting its position in hope that you accept the offer.
During the past thirty plus years of handling automobile accidents, our attorney’s have observed that most residents in New Jersey are subject to the “Limited Right to Sue/Verbal Threshold/Lawsuit Threshold” policy, largely because the policy is cheaper. Unfortunately, this cheaper threshold policy may (and often does) affect your ability to recover for your injuries. Additionally, this policy may affect your ability to find an attorney willing to take your case.
South Jersey personal injury claim representation
Puff & Cockerill LLC is devoted to aggressively representing people in a personal injury claim, no matter what automobile insurance policy section you selected. We represent people who have been injured in car accidents, regardless of the choice of policy, so long as your case warrants moving forward.
If you have been injured in a car accident or would like to speak with an attorney regarding your car accident, please contact the experienced attorneys at Puff & Cockerill LLC. The attorneys at Puff & Cockerill LLC have handled hundreds of car accident cases and have obtained favorable results on behalf of our clients for their injuries through aggressive representation of our clients no matter what the policy selection is.
If you are an employee and injured on the job in New Jersey, you have rights under the laws of the State of New Jersey. Your rights include compensation from your employer for past and future medical expenses, lost wages and pain and suffering. In order to promptly and properly receive compensation for your injury from your employer, there are several important initial steps that every injured employee should understand.
The important laws for work related injuries are found in the New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Act, N.J.S.A. 34:15-1 et seq. This Act provides the exclusive remedy available to an employee injured on the job. The Act is also, by operation of law, written into every employment contract in New Jersey.
As a starting point, the following is a quick summary of basic rights and information that you should be immediately aware of following any work related injury.
Injured on the Job in New Jersey? You are Entitled to Compensation from Employer
When personal injury is caused to an employee by accident arising out of and in the course of the employee’s employment, the employee is entitled to receive compensation from his employer. N.J.S.A. 34:15-1. In New Jersey, an injured employee may be compensated for that injury regardless of his or her fault. Intentional injuries by the employee, however, fall outside the scope of the Workers’ Compensation Act.
Your employer (not you) is required to provide the injured employee such medical, surgical and other treatment and hospital service as is necessary to cure and relieve the worker of the effects of the work related injury. N.J.S.A. 34:15-15.
Injured on the Job in New Jersey? You may be entitled to Temporary Disability Benefits
When an injured employee is unable to work for more than 7 days, he or she is eligible to receive temporary disability benefits. N.J.S.A. 34:15-14. Temporary disability benefits, in layman’s terms, are monetary payments made to the injured employee while that employee is unable to work due to the work related injury.
After all of the medical treatment has been provided to the injured employee and the injured employee has been discharged from medical care, the injured employee may be entitled to a monetary award for the injury that he or she sustained.
Injured on the Job in New Jersey? You may be entitled to Permanent Disability Benefits
When the workplace injury results in a permanent disability to the injured employee, benefits are payable to the employee based on a percentage of the employee’s permanent disability. The percentage of disability can range from 1% to 100%.
Injured on the Job in New Jersey? Your Homeowners’ Insurance Policy and Workers’ Compensation Claims
Unknown to most of the public is the fact that your homeowners’ insurance policy may under certain circumstances provide coverage should someone working at your home have such a workplace injury. For further information, please contact the attorneys at Puff & Cockerill.
Injured on the Job in New Jersey? You Deserve Legal Advice to Pursue Your Recovery
If you are injured on the job in New Jersey, you deserve to know your rights and receive proper medical attention. There are many different sections of the New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Statute. Some sections may apply to your case, while others may not.
If you have any questions or would like to speak to an attorney regarding an injury sustained on the job, please contact the experienced workers’ compensation attorneys at Puff & Cockerill LLC. The attorneys at Puff & Cockerill LLC have handled hundreds of workers’ compensation cases and obtained compensation for past and future medical expenses, lost wages, and compensation for pain and suffering, in addition to receiving favorable settlements on behalf of our clients.