Monthly Archives: December 2016
New Jersey unsafe driving violation. What does it mean and why is it important to understand the law. Over the past 35 years, our firm has represented hundreds of clients who received traffic tickets for violations of the New Jersey traffic laws. New Jersey traffic tickets can involve an assessment of motor vehicle points, payment of fines, suspension of driving privileges, surcharges and court costs (or a combination thereof). Most clients are concerned about the imposition of motor vehicle points because an assessment of points on your record can lead to an increased likelihood of a driver’s license suspension or an increase in automobile insurance rates.
In this article, I will discuss [N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2], commonly known as “unsafe operation” or “unsafe driving violation.” An unsafe driving violation operates as a “catch-all” provision that broadly states:
“(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, it shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate a motor vehicle in an unsafe manner likely to endanger a person or property…”
Offenses, Fines and Penalties for an NJ Unsafe Driving Violation
A first unsafe driving violation is subject to a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $150.00. Importantly, no motor vehicle penalty points are assessed to first time offenders.
A second unsafe driving violation is subject to a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $250.00. As with a first offense, no motor vehicle points are assessed to second time offenders.
A third or subsequent unsafe driving violation is subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $500.00. However, four motor vehicle points will be assessed to your record.
An offense, however, that occurs more than five years after a prior offense for the same violation will not be considered a subsequent offense for purposes of assessing motor vehicle penalty points. In addition to any fine, fee or charge imposed by the Court, a person convicted of this unsafe driving offense will be assessed a surcharge of $250.00.
A crucial benefit of unsafe driving violation, when compared to harsher offenses, is that no motor vehicle points are assessed until a driver is convicted of a third or subsequent offense, only if that third or subsequent offense occurs within five years of a prior conviction for the same “unsafe driving” offense.
Do I Need A Lawyer for an unsafe driving violation?
Before you plead guilty to any motor vehicle violation or traffic ticket in the State of New Jersey and incur fines, fees, potential points on your driving record, or suspension of your driving privileges, you should consider speaking with an experienced attorney about your legal matter. An experienced attorney may likely be able to assist the client and mitigate a violation to avoid an unwanted and costly outcome.
For more information regarding the New Jersey Driver Points System read our article.
In New Jersey, driving is a privilege, not a right. Your privilege to drive is subject to continued adherence of the State’s traffic laws. Violating the traffic laws, whether it is one motor vehicle conviction or repeat offenses, will have consequences. The consequences range from fines, to points assessed to your driving record, and to possible suspensions or revocations of your driving privileges.
New Jersey implements a driving points point system for traffic violations to track driver records and prevent abuse from drivers’ with habitual offenses. Points can be given in increments ranging from 2 to 8, depending on the severity of the violation. It is important to know that points are only assessed for traffic violations, not parking violations.
How Does the New Jersey Driving Points System Affect My Driving Privileges and Insurance?
The New Jersey driving points system can seriously affect your driving privileges and your insurance rates. If you received a total of 6 points within a 3 year window, you will be assessed a surcharge of $150, which is a charge in addition to the other fines stemming from the individual offenses. See N.J.S.A. 13:19-10.4. If you receive 12 points, in a period of two or less years, your license will be suspended. See N.J.S.A. 13:19-10.2. Following the 12th point, additional points will increase the period of suspension.
Ancillary costs of a suspended license will result in higher insurance rates and premiums. This occurs because insurance providers can and will access your driving record, which includes the New Jersey point system history.
Do I Need A Lawyer for My Driving Points?
Before you plead guilty to any motor vehicle violation or traffic ticket in the State of New Jersey that will incur fees, fines, potential points on your record, or a possible suspension of your driving privileges, you should consider speaking with an experienced attorney about your matter. An experienced attorney may likely be able to assist the client and mitigate a violation to avoid an unwanted and costly outcome.
When filing for divorce there are things you should know before starting the process. Do you know what your mortgage payment and property taxes are? Do you know who your mortgage company is? These are just two of the many basic questions that are discussed during the initial interview process when you consult with an attorney in a divorce case. It is crucial to have a firm understanding of your finances, expenses, assets and debt when you are going to file for divorce. And yet, many spouses have little to no understanding of these things. It is very common for one spouse to be the “Captain of your financial ship.” A First Mate’s duties require them to have intimate knowledge of how the ship works, and be able to take over at a moment’s notice in the event of emergency or catastrophe. Similarly, spouses should also be completely familiar with the family’s finances and how expenses are paid and serviced.
Forget about filing for divorce or dissolution for a second. What would happen if the spouse who controls or “deals with” all of the finances suddenly became ill, incapacitated or died? Are you in the position to take over the bills, expenses and financial dealings? Or would you be adrift on a vast sea of paper? What you don’t know can, in fact, hurt you.
One of the most important documents you are required to complete and file with the Court when filing for divorce process is a Case Information Statement. That statement provides the Court and the parties’ attorneys with a detailed “financial snapshot” of your life. The more complete that statement is, with supporting documentation, the less work, time and expense will be involved in the court proceedings. If you would have “no idea” how to complete such a statement, now is the time to figure it out—even if you believe that you are in a stable and happy marriage.
Knowledge is power, and can mean the difference between sharing in a valuable asset or losing it altogether. Many types of employment, especially those in the public sector, carry distinct benefits which the spouses have a right to share in. You cannot share in it, however, if you don’t know about it. One excellent example of such a benefit is “Sick Day Pay”. Sick days accrue if they are not otherwise used during a calendar year. Those unused sick days are then “banked”. Upon retirement, he or she gets paid for the unused sick days, which can translate into tens of thousands of dollars.
“I don’t know” places people at a distinct disadvantage in the context of filing for divorce. Familiarize yourself with your bank accounts, spending patterns, life insurance policies and bills. Know where the important documents are, and make sure you have access to copies.
Every case is fact sensitive and there may be documentation that is pertinent to your circumstances. A full consultation with an experienced matrimonial/family law attorney (now!) will guide you as to what other documents may be necessary to address your case.